Skip to main content

Nursing graduates honored with traditional pinning ceremony

Dec 15, 2023

KOKOMO, Ind. — The Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing and Allied Health Professions (SNAHP) recognized nearly 50 healthcare professionals as they completed degree programs in December 2023, with a traditional recognition and pinning ceremony Thursday, December 14 in Havens Auditorium.

Two Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) graduates earned recognition, along with 30 in the traditional Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) track, 11 in the second-degree nursing track, and six in the RN to BSN track.

Dean Susan Hendricks congratulated the graduates, and thanked faculty and staff who provided the top-notch education students received. Through the pinning ceremony, she said, the students claim their place among “the long tradition of persons who have provided exceptional nursing care and leadership throughout our history.”

She encouraged them to consider their own legacy within nursing, by serving as a leader in an organization, working in a long-term care facility or hospital, educating other nurses, or providing primary health care as a nurse practitioner.

“You are an IU nurse,” she said. “IU nurses are distinctive. We lead from where we stand, and we leave behind us a legacy worthy of Hoosier pride recognized around the globe. That is who we are. The competent practice, goodwill, and care you generate as an IU nurse will echo into the future in ways that you cannot predict, but will always matter.”

Shelby Walker congratulated her classmates on their accomplishments, calling the ceremony a special day for all attending.

“We have become a group of strong, compassionate, and capable individuals on our way to fulfill our dream of becoming nurses,” she said. “This, of course, was not an easy journey. It has been a roller coaster full of emotions. We have cried at times, celebrated in others, and most likely complained to our families and friends about how much homework we had to do and how horrible the next exam was going to be. I would like to let all my classmates know that I am truly proud and thankful for each and every one of them, and all the support we gave each other throughout this journey.”

Carolyn Townsend, associate dean of the pre-licensure BSN program, noted that each nursing school has its own pin, filled with symbolism that reflects professional and university values. The pinning ceremony is modeled from the event in the 1860s during which Florence Nightingale was awarded the Red Cross of St. George in recognition for her service during the Crimean War.

Additional speakers included Scott Jones, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs; Tamera Ledbetter, simulation center director and clinical assistant professor of nursing, and students Alicia Reason and Meredith Wagner. The Indiana Nurse Honor Guard also had representatives present to welcome students to the profession.

Those honored are listed by degree and hometown.

Master of Science in Nursing

Frankfort: Elizabeth Inman

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia: Zahra Qaysi

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Argos: Leslie Rae Einspahr

Galveston: Morgan E. Summers

Indianapolis: Karlee Christy, Jacob Edward Peregoy, Emelia Spears

Kewanna: Alicia L. Reason

Kokomo: Kailyn Kole DeVault, Emily Grace Kirkpatrick, Felisha Lapan, Morgan Paige Scruggs, Hailee Selley, Leah Madison Sweeley, Maddy Marie Walker

Logansport: Emily Renee Artrip, Jessica Alea Renee Sell

Macy: Shelby Lynn Walker

Marion: Miranda Riggs

Monticello: Tegan Alexis Altman

Muncie: Olivia C. Craycraft

Noblesville: Maibrunn Ann Hartline

Peru: Morgan Nicole Hoover, Abigail Grace Pasquale

Royal Center: Liagh Ann Raisor

Summitville: Hanna Irene Young

Terre Haute: Karlie Grace Kellett

Tipton: Jessica Cage

Wabash: Molly Moore, Sydnee Osborn

West Lafayette: Amanda Jo Shearer

Wolcott: Montana L. Jordan

Second degree Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Flora: Cory Wayne Seward

Kokomo: Roxandra Buckmaster, Courtnee Cossell-Smallwood, Andrew Doan Huynh, Thomas Luke Lott, Emily Nicole Whiteman

Logansport: Tyler Whitehead

Peru: Jenna Kay Fry, Katherine Ellen Kramer, Meredith Wagner

Wabash: Holly Jean Stein


Carmel: Alyssa Ane Coyne

Darlington: Virmiklos Pomart

Flora: Julia Deanna Hoskins

Peru: Kimberly Murray

Royal Center: Amanda Corn

Westfield: Devin Michael Kuaana

Education is KEY at Indiana University Kokomo.

More stories

A woman poses in a library
IU Kokomo