Skip to main content

Campus hosts 60th annual Howard County Science Fair

Faculty Feb 21, 2024
A group of teenagers holding certificates

KOKOMO, Ind. — Young scientists earned nearly $9,000 in Indiana University Kokomo scholarships and awards Saturday (February 17) at the 60th annual Howard County Science Fair.

Deborah Jaworski, senior lecturer in mathematics and event chair, said the campus is pleased to host the annual event for students in grades 4-12. In addition to showcasing their projects, students participated in science activities in the biology lab with Brandon Wysong, lecturer in biology, and the Observatory with Patrick Motl, professor of physics.

“Students in the senior division enthusiastically tackled real-world issues such as studying the environmental effects of salt runoff into freshwater sources, finding creative alternatives to pesticides for vineyards, and considering algae to mitigate carbon emissions,” Jaworski said. “Students in the junior division studied everything from rockets, robots, water filtration, electronics, geodes, and slime.”

Senior division winners (grades 9-12) included Ava Prather, who received $2,500 IU Kokomo scholarship and $100 cash prize for first place; second place winner Samuel Martin, who was granted a $1,500 scholarship and $75 prize; and third place recipient Elyse Collins, who was awarded a $1,000 scholarship and $50 cash prize. All three are Northwestern High School students.

Senior second prize winners each received a $500 scholarship. They included, in alphabetical order, Megan Broeker (Northwestern), Ty Kidwell (Northwestern), Adam Lesko (Northwestern), Conall Miller (Northwestern), Moszianne Pontius (Northwestern), Isaac Russeau (home school), and Gabriel Smalley (Northwestern).

First prize winners in the junior division, grades 4-8, received a $30 cash prize each. They include Cecilia Cramer (Eastern), Alydia Lewis (Eastern), Corbin Perryman (Eastern), Claire Russeau (home school), and Kamryn Steele (Eastern).

Second prize winners in the junior division received a $20 cash prize each and were all from Eastern. They include Ruby Howell, Greyson Ingle, Harper Marr, Carson Smith, and Tessa Yoder.

Chancellor Mark Canada and Christian Chauret, dean of the School of Sciences, congratulated all participating students.

Jaworski noted that donations to the Howard County Science Fair inc. fund the cash prizes.

Additional faculty committee members and volunteers included Hisako Masuda, associate professor of biochemistry; Peter Tupa, senior lecturer in mathematics; Chris Caruvana, assistant professor of mathematics; Marcia Gillette, adjunct lecturer in chemistry; Linda Krause, senior lecturer in mathematics; and Amelia Tebbe, associate professor of mathematics.

IU Kokomo student volunteers Joshua Cochran, Hailey Howell, and Jacob Pierson assisted at the event, alongside School of Sciences alumnae Olivia Terry and Tifany Burnett, who also volunteered.

Sponsors were Eriks Chevrolet, Melissa A. Jarrell, DDS, the Wyman Group, Bob and Marcia Gillette, and the Jaworski family.

Education is KEY at Indiana University Kokomo.

Contact Info

Erin Witt, director of media and marketing

Danielle Rush, communications specialist

More stories

IU Kokomo  
a graphic image of two men in baseball uniforms
IU Kokomo