Skip to main content

Donor impact celebrated at Chancellor’s Guild Dinner

Advancement Campus Life Apr 24, 2024
A group of people stand in front of a red background

KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo thanked the donors whose partnership provides educational opportunities for students at its annual Chancellor’s Guild dinner.

The event, hosted by Chancellor Mark Canada, celebrated donor impact, with a focus on the Groups Scholars Program.

“This is always one of my favorite nights of the year, because throughout the year, I get the chance to see how each of you support our campus, celebrate our students’ achievements, and make a difference on our campus. But, on this night, I get to celebrate you,” he said.

Donor funds allowed IU Kokomo to start a Groups Scholars Program, which provides academic, financial, and social support to selected underrepresented Indiana college students through graduation. IU created the program in 1968 with funding from the IU Foundation Wellhouse Society, a university-wide fund that pools contributions of all sizes from alumni and supporters to support the university’s needs.

“It’s an excellent example of how multiple contributions, in gifts of all sizes, make a significant impact on the future of Indiana University and Indiana University Kokomo,” Canada said.

Groups Scholars faculty Meg Galasso, associate librarian and Nick Baxter, assistant professor of psychology; and student Briana Madrigal shared their perspective of the program’s impact.

Madrigal said she almost didn’t come to GROUPS after finding out the friend she signed up with was in a different class, but she’s glad she persisted.

“Joining GROUPS and taking the summer courses truly made me more confident of what was to come ahead in my first year here at IUK,” she said. “Every one of the GROUPS faculty made sure to let us know that help from them was always available through the year, and they surely kept up with that. Not only am I grateful for the head start that GROUPS offered, but I am also grateful for all the abundant resources that it has provided it truly feels like a family on campus.”

Crystal Jones, vice chancellor for university advancement and media and marketing, noted that the dinner honors those who have given $1,000 or more in the calendar year.

Dr. Ray and Dr. Mary Bonhomme, David Gossman, Security Federal Savings Bank, and the Spencer Education Foundation were inducted into the Remarkable Legacy Society, which honors those who have given $75,000 or more to the IU Foundation to benefit any IU Kokomo fund.

Forty donors were honored as members of the Seiberling Society, for giving more than $5,000 during the year. Each one received a hand-blown glass vase created by House of Glass in Elwood.

Seiberling Society members honored, listed alphabetically, included:

American Online Giving Foundation

Don and Gail Beaton

Dr. Ray and Dr. Mary Bonhomme

Beth Brooke

Bucheri McCarty & Metz LLP

Capitol Sports

Chariot Management Group, LLC

Robert and Deborah Christensen

Community Health Network, Inc.

Community First Bank of Indiana

Community Foundation of Howard County, Inc.

Steve and Barb Conner

Doug Eglen and Lynette Hazelbaker

Randy and Esther Fishman

First Farmers Bank & Trust, Inc.

Robert Ford II

Court and Dawnya French

Judy and Mike Golitko

David Gossman

Joseph and Susan Hendricks

Robert and Joan Hoch

Bill and Nancy Hunt

KeyBank Foundation

Hal and Sherry King

Philip L. Kintzele, D.B.A.

Kokomo Grain Company

Pat and Sue McGavic

McGavic Outdoor Power Equipment Inc.

Robert Mullen and Dianna Delgado

NiSource Charitable Foundation

Scot and Lisa Ortman

Julie Paris and Daniel Grundmann

Security Federal Savings Bank

Jeff & Lisa Smeltzer

Smith-Fuqua Foundation

Solidarity Community Federal Credit Union

Amanda and Shannon Sturgil

Thrush-Thompson Foundation, Inc.

UAW-Howard County CAP Council

Phil and Melissa Williams


Education is KEY at Indiana University Kokomo.

More stories