Skip to main content

Recognition ceremony celebrates radiologic science graduates

Campus Life May 3, 2024
A group picture on steps
More pictures from the ceremony here

KOKOMO, Ind. — The Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing and Allied Health Professions (SNAHP) celebrated the accomplishments of 14 graduates in the field of radiologic sciences at its annual pinning and recognition ceremony Thursday (May 2).

Faculty, staff, friends and family gathered in Kresge Auditorium to congratulate the graduates earning their degrees in the Bachelor of Science in Medical Imaging Technology and Associate of Science in Radiography degree programs.

In offering her congratulations to the graduates, Dean Susan Hendricks discussed the “Red Thread of Fate” theory, which states that an invisible thread ties a person to those they are destined to meet and connect with.

“We all are called into each other’s lives, to hold some important place,” Hendricks said. “You are connected to us in an important way, all throughout the rest of your life. And we will count you proudly as our graduates.”

For graduate Aly Glaser, earning her associate degree in radiography is ‘bittersweet.’

Glaser always knew that she wanted to work in the medical field and chose radiography after learning about it in high school.

“I’m happy we’re almost done, but also I’m growing up and this is scary,” she said.

Margaret Meyers, also earning her associate degree in radiography, added that, “It feels like we did it.

“It didn’t feel like we were going to get there, but we did.”

Meyers said that she chose to work in radiography because “it’s the first stop for everybody who is sick, when they are looking for answers.”

Christine Rassel, associate clinical professor in medical imaging technology, reminded the graduates that years of hard work, compassion, and determination led them to earn their degrees.

“May you continue to be inspired, passionate, and devoted to the profession and to your patients,” Rassel said.

Honorees are listed by degree and hometown. They include:

Associate of Science in Radiography:

Anderson: Isabella Rolston

Crawfordsville: Christina Pritchett

Cutler: Ashlyn Pullen

Frankton: Kelsey Hall

Jonesboro: Aly Glaser

Kokomo: Haley Taylor

Logansport: Tammy Thacker

Marion: Lauren Albertson

North Manchester: Margaret Myers

Peru: Libbey Edwards

Royal Center: Alexis Neal

Tipton: Lauren Shively

Wabash: Aubree Lambert

Bachelor of Science in Medical Imaging Technology:

Celina, Ohio: Erin Grieshop

Lambda Nu Inductee:

Erin Grieshop

Education is KEY at Indiana University Kokomo.

Contact Info

Erin Witt, director of media and marketing

Danielle Rush, communications specialist

More stories

IU Kokomo