Skip to main content

Pride of Indiana: Thank-you messages to and from IU employees

Apr 19, 2017

Pride of Indiana is a regular feature in Inside IU that allows IU faculty and staff to recognize their colleagues for IU-related work they’ve done that goes above and beyond their job duties or responsibilities.

Submit a Pride of Indiana shout-out for a colleague who makes a difference in your department.

Thank you to the following IU employees:

Pride of Indiana logo
“Pride of Indiana” recognizes faculty and staff for their IU-related work that goes above and beyond their job duties or responsibilities.Graphic by Heather Farmer

IU Bloomington

Kim Evans, of the Department of Development and Alumni in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs, whose nominator wrote: “Kim is an absolute essential part of this office. I am so thankful for her constant helpful and kind demeanor. She has always shown patience with my multitude of questions – even when they are often repeat ones. She always has a smile for visitors no matter how busy she is. I’m very lucky to have her guidance and support!”

Katy Hunt, of the Maurer School of Law’s Dean’s Office, whose nominator wrote: “Katy Hunt, the room scheduling officer in the Maurer School of Law, was most helpful in securing rooms for an exam and arranging weekend building access. Katy took great care to reserve specific rooms that met our needs and ensure that we could access the rooms when needed. She even emailed to let us know how we could pick up keys when she was at lunch. Katy is very professional and warm, and it’s obvious that she takes great pride in her work and in the Maurer School of Law. Katy’s extremely high service level is among the very best that I have seen in over 20 years at Indiana University. Working with Katy is a pleasure for which we are very grateful.”

Melissa Page, of the Department of Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies in the School of Public Health, whose nominator wrote: “Melissa shines in her self-initiated work behavior. In over 20 years of work in higher education, I have found few who will step outside their role and proactively initiate change, and create a new method. Melissa is a quiet person who on the outside is not demonstrative, demanding or assertive, yet she is that quiet and conscientious employee who carefully observes and, at the appropriate time, advances possible solutions. Melissa has been the consummate professional in our department, facilitating congruence and continuity for faculty and students while mentoring new staff. On behalf of RPTS, we wish to thank her for service to our faculty, staff and students!”

Carrie Stemen and Cheryl Engel, of the School of Informatics and Computing, whose nominator wrote: “Thanks to Carrie Stemen and Cheryl Engel for their hard work within the Department of Informatics to assist with the admissions processes for our graduate admissions, for maintaining this data for all who need to have it, for helping to set up a social media campaign for Informatics as well as everything else they do each and every day above and beyond to assist our students, staff and faculty. They are wonderful assets to our office and great co-workers.”


Kristofer Karol, of IU Communications, whose nominator wrote: “When I read about IU’s #RaisetheFlag campaign, I was excited to purchase an IU flag to participate. I reached out to Kristofer Karol to find affordable flag options. Kristofer went above and far beyond to assist me. He immediately responded to my inquiry and, even though we work at different campuses, he arranged to get an IU flag to me within a couple hours!”

Jeana Aranjo, of the Department of Biomedical and Applied Sciences in the IU School of Dentistry, whose nominator wrote: “Jeana was instrumental in streamlining the research student travel forms and informational sheet without assignment to do so. The current system was cumbersome and confusing to some of the students (and staff!). Her simple yet comprehensive forms will help our administrative staff process student travel more efficiently with less questions and fewer errors. Thank you, Jeana!”

Terry Wilson, of the Department of Media Relations in the IU School of Dentistry, whose nominator wrote: “IU School of Medicine, Match Day 2017, would not have been a success without the collaborative dedication of Terry Wilson with IU School of Dentistry. The program location was moved out of the Campus Center this year due to circumstances outside of our control and Terry worked diligently with the Medical School team to develop a program that was more successful than we could have ever dreamed possible.”


Lora Miller, of the Office of Recruitment and Admissions, and Jeni Chandler, of the Office of Scholarships, whose nominator wrote: “Thanks to Lora Miller and Jeni Chandler for all their planning and hard work for the annual Just for Juniors college visit. They went above and beyond to ensure the 120+ guests have a great experience on campus and leave with all the information they need to make IUPUC their school of choice. Lora and Jeni, you two are ahh-mazing!”

More stories

News at IU