Skip to main content

IU School of Public Health-Bloomington honors Distinguished Alumni Award recipients

For Immediate Release May 2, 2017
IU School of Public Health-Bloomington distinguished alumni.
The IU School of Public Health-Bloomington distinguished alumni, from left, are Mary Jane Robling, E. Lisako Jones McKyer, Hongwei Guan, John Spengler, Fred Perry, Brittany Rizek and Rob DeCleene.Photo courtesy of the IU School of Public Health-Bloomington

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington honored seven alumni at its Distinguished Alumni Awards banquet on April 14, with honorees including current university professors, teachers, military personnel and tourism professionals.

“All of our alumni are lifelong ambassadors for our school and work tirelessly in a variety of areas of public health,” said Mohammad Torabi, dean and Chancellor’s Professor at the School of Public Health-Bloomington. “The alumni we’re honoring this year with our Distinguished Alumni Awards are going above and beyond in moving the field of public health into the future, or have had exceptional careers in public health teaching the next generation of public health workers.”

This year’s event marked the 41st annual awards ceremony recognizing esteemed graduates from the School of Public Health-Bloomington. This year’s recipients are:

  • Mary Jane Robling (B.S. ’63): A retired physical education teacher, Robling received the Anita Aldrich Distinguished Alumni Award, which honors graduates who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in professional excellence, service to the community and loyalty to IU relative to the advancement of girls and women.
  • Hongwei Guan (Ph.D. ’05): An associate professor in the Department of Health Promotion and Physical Education at Ithaca College, Guan received the Tony Mobley International Distinguished Alumni Award, which recognizes outstanding professional achievement outside the U.S.
  • Brittany Rizek (MPH ’09): A lieutenant commander in the U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, Rizek received the Early Career Outstanding Alumni Award, which recognizes alumni who through exceptional achievement have distinguished themselves by their professional accomplishment, community service or service to the university.
  • Rob DeCleene (B.S. ’94) and Fred Perry, (B.S. ’99): DeCleene is executive director of Visit South Bend Mishawaka, and Perry is director of international alumni relations at the IU Alumni Association. Both received the John R. Endwright Alumni Service Award, which recognizes alumni for outstanding service and contributions.
  • John Spengler (Ph.D. ’99): A department head and professor in the Department of Health Promotion and Community Health Sciences at Texas A&M University, Spengler received the W.W. Patty Distinguished Alumni Award, which is the oldest and most prestigious alumni recognition award bestowed by the school. It is given to a graduate who has demonstrated outstanding personal and professional achievement in their career.
  • E. Lisako Jones McKyer, (M.P.H. ’00, Ph.D. ’05): An associate professor in the Division of Health Education at Texas A&M University and associate dean for Climate and Diversity, received the David Gallahue Champion Alumni Award, which recognizes contributions of alumni who advance the cause of justice and equality.

About the IU School of Public Health-Bloomington

The IU School of Public Health-Bloomington is reimagining public health through a comprehensive approach that enhances and expands disease prevention and reshapes how parks, tourism, sports, leisure activities, physical activity and nutrition impact and enhance wellness. With nearly 3,000 students in an array of undergraduate and advanced degree programs and more than 130 faculty in five academic departments, faculty and students conduct research, learn, teach and engage with communities across a broad spectrum of health, wellness and disease-prevention topics.

Media Contact

IU School of Public Health-Bloomington

Charles Rondot

More stories