Skip to main content

Indiana University faculty and graduate students recognized for outstanding teaching and service

For Immediate Release Feb 19, 2018

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana University will honor eight faculty members and three graduate students this spring for excellence in teaching and service.

They will be recognized at the 2018 Celebration of Distinguished Teaching dinner and awards program at 5 p.m. April 13 in Alumni Hall of the Indiana Memorial Union. The celebration marks Founders Day, a traditional event recalling the university’s founding in 1820.

The IU trident on the side of a building

IU President Michael A. McRobbie will present the awards to recipients from IU Bloomington, IUPUI, IU Kokomo and IU Northwest.

“Teaching and service are at the heart of Indiana University’s mission and have been for its nearly 200-year history,” McRobbie said. “They are essential to the university’s strategic priorities, including fulfilling a commitment to student success, maintaining a community of scholars and growing as a global institution.

“The faculty members and doctoral students we are honoring have done exemplary work, modeling dedication to their students, innovative approaches to teaching, and engagement with the campus, the broader community and the world. They are highly deserving of this recognition, and I will be delighted to present these awards.”

For photos and more information about the recipients, click on their names for links to their pages on the University Honors and Awards website.

Teaching awards

Pravina Shukla, professor in the Department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington, will receive the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching. In addition to her primary appointment, she holds appointments with the Department of Anthropology, the India Studies Program, the American Studies Program and the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Established in 1974, the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching recognizes outstanding teaching, research or service. It honors the most exceptional faculty, their devotion to students and their strong commitment to the university’s fundamental missions.

Susan Hyatt, professor of anthropology in the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI and an affiliate faculty member at the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy, will receive the Thomas Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Service Learning. The award honors faculty members who have shown outstanding leadership in integrating community and public service into their teaching.

Christopher Young, associate professor in the departments of history, philosophy, political science and religious studies at IU Northwest, will receive the Sylvia E. Bowman Distinguished Teaching Award. Young also directs the campus’s Center for Innovation and Scholarship in Teaching and Learning. Established in 1994, the Sylvia E. Bowman Award honors exemplary faculty members in areas related to American civilization. 

Anastasia Morrone, university associate vice president for learning technologies and IUPUI dean of IT, and Tara Kingsley, assistant professor of education at IU Kokomo, will receive the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Technology. Established in 2013, this award honors faculty who have contributed significantly to teaching and learning through sustained and innovative use of technology. 

The Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award will be presented to IU Bloomington doctoral students Katherine Altizer in the Department of Musicology in the Jacobs School of Music; Collin Bjork in the Department of English in the College of Arts and Sciences; and Eric Sevell in the departments of sociology and criminal justice in the College of Arts and Sciences. Established in 1961, the award recognizes outstanding teachers among the university’s graduate students who combine advanced study with instructional employment.

Service awards

Beth Gazley, a professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs and a specialist in nonprofit management, inter-organizational collaboration, membership associations and volunteerism, will receive the W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service. The award was established in 1988 to honor faculty considered shining examples of dedication and excellence in service to others. 

The John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies will be presented to John Parrish-Sprowl, professor of communication studies in the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI, and Ash Soni, professor of operations and decision technologies and executive associate dean for academic programs in the Kelley School of Business. The award, established in 1991, honors faculty members and librarians from all campuses for exceptional contributions to the university’s international programs and studies.

More stories