Skip to main content

Chancellor’s Honors Convocation recognizes leading IUPUI teachers, researchers, mentors, students

Apr 19, 2018
Chancellor Nasser Paydar
Chancellor Nasser Paydar hosts the annual Chancellor’s Academic Honors Convocation, celebrating excellence at IUPUI.Photo by Liz Kaye, IU Communications

Outstanding IUPUI teachers, researchers, mentors and students are being recognized April 20 at the annual Chancellor’s Academic Honors Convocation in Hine Hall Auditorium.

The convocation, hosted by Chancellor Nasser H. Paydar, celebrates excellence across all areas of IUPUI’s mission: teaching and learning; research, scholarship and creative activity; civic engagement; and diversity.

“IUPUI’s Academic Honors Convocation offers an important opportunity to recognize members of our campus community who embody the spirit of scholarship, creativity and engagement that leads toward the most innovative ideas,” Paydar said. “Our Chancellor’s Professors, Chancellor’s Scholars and other honorees reflect the remarkable heights that faculty, staff, students and our community partners can reach and offer models of excellence for others to follow.”

Patrick Sullivan, a professor in the School of Social Work, is being named Chancellor’s Professor, the most distinguished appointment a faculty member can receive at IUPUI.

The Charles R. Bantz Chancellor’s Community Fellowship is once again being awarded. Created in 2015 in recognition of the former chancellor’s leadership and contributions to the campus and community, this fellowship reflects Bantz’s dedication to research that creates university-community partnerships and results in community impact.

Barbara Pierce, an associate professor in the School of Social Work, and Wanda Thruston, a clinical assistant professor in the School of Nursing, are receiving the Charles R. Bantz Chancellor’s Community Fellowship award. Their project is titled “Creation of Trauma-Responsive Services for Indianapolis Metropolitan High School: Using an Internal-Design Team Approach.”

The Charles R. Bantz Chancellor’s Community Scholar Award is being awarded to Cristina Santamaría Graff, an assistant professor of special education in the School of Education. Her project is “Community Engagement in Special Education Teacher Preparation Courses on Families: Working Together to Plan and Implement ‘Family as Faculty’ Workshops for Historically Minoritized Families of Children with Disabilities.”

Awards focusing on teaching and their recipients are:

  • Chancellor’s Professor Award – Patrick Sullivan, professor, School of Social Work.
  • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching – Keith Anliker, senior lecturer of chemistry and director of laboratory and curriculum support, School of Science.
  • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Multicultural Teaching – Natasha Flowers, clinical associate professor, School of Education.
  • Chancellor’s Diversity Scholar Award – Matthew Holley, assistant professor and associate director of medical student education, School of Medicine.

Awards honoring research work and their recipients are:

  • Bantz-Petronio Translating Research Into Practice Faculty Award – Sunil Badve, Joshua Edwards Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, School of Medicine.
  • Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D. Research Scholar Award – Mark Kelley, Betty and Earl Herr Chair in Pediatric Oncology Research and professor, departments of biochemistry and molecular biology, pediatrics, and pharmacology and toxicology, School of Medicine.

Contributions by campus mentors to strengthen IUPUI’s academic reputation are also recognized:

  • Alvin S. Bynum Award for Excellence in Academic Mentoring for faculty – Dr. Deanna Willis, associate professor of family medicine, School of Medicine.
  • Alvin S. Bynum Award for Excellence in Academic Mentoring for staff – Kathleen Hursh, associate director of career services, School of Public and Environmental Affairs.

Awards presented to recognize contributions in civic engagement are:

  • Chancellor’s Faculty Award for Excellence in Civic Engagement – Dr. Javier Sevilla-Martir, assistant dean for diversity affairs, professor of underserved Indiana patients, professor of clinical family medicine.
  • Chancellor’s Community Award for Excellence in Civic Engagement – James Taylor, chief executive officer, John H. Boner Community Center.
  • Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D. Experience Excellence Award – Karen Pollok, associate professor of pediatrics, Herman B Wells Center for Pediatric Research, School of Medicine; Tamiko Neal Porter, lecturer, School of Science.

Recipients of the Trustees’ Teaching Award are also recognized.

The award categories that highlight national or regional achievements are:

  • Prestigious External Award Recognition.
  • Recognizing External Achievements.

Three award categories honor students:

  • Chancellor’s Scholars.
  • Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research.
  • Sherry Queener Graduate Student Excellence Award.

See the complete list of all honorees.

Media Contact

IU Newsroom

John Schwarb

Senior Communications Specialist/Content Strategist, IUPUI

More stories