Skip to main content

Fourth cohort selected for IUPUI Next Generation 2.0 Leadership Program

May 14, 2018

A 20-member cohort has been selected for the fourth round of the IUPUI Next Generation 2.0 leadership development program. Eight faculty and 12 staff members were chosen by the advisory board to participate.

The fourth Next Generation 2.0 program cohort listens to IUPUI Chancellor Nasser Paydar.
Members of the Next Generation 2.0 program listen to IUPUI Chancellor Nasser Paydar.Photo by IUPUI

The cohort members will begin with an orientation in May and then start a nine-month curriculum in September that focuses on the development of leadership skills and understanding contemporary issues in higher education. Participants will also have the opportunity to identify, plan and implement a capstone project, either individually or in a group, that responds to an identified need of their department, the IUPUI campus or the Indianapolis community.

The Next Generation 2.0 program, supported by the Office of Academic Affairs, encourages faculty and professional staff at IUPUI who are women and/or members of underrepresented populations interested in seeking leadership opportunities at IUPUI or professional development to enhance their current roles. This program directly addresses the IUPUI Strategic Plan goals to “develop our faculty and staff” and “promote an inclusive campus climate.”

Members selected for the 2018-19 cohort are:

  • Alijohn “AJ” Amini, associate director of University College at IUPUC.
  • Lisa Angermeier, clinical associate professor in the Department of Kinesiology at the School of Health and Human Sciences.
  • Amanda L. Bonilla, assistant director for social justice education in the Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.
  • Jennifer Conner, division head and associate professor of language education at IUPUC.
  • Natasha Flowers, clinical associate professor of teacher education in the School of Education.
  • Silvia Garcia, assistant director for research in the Office of Community Engagement.
  • Beth Goodman, assistant director of undergraduate student services in the Department of Psychology at the School of Science.
  • Tabitha M. Hardy, assistant dean for student development and academic affairs in the University Graduate School.
  • Heather Hennen, business manager in the Department of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics, at the IU School of Medicine.
  • Marva Hunt, director of undergraduate programs in the Kelley School of Business Indianapolis.
  • Soonhwan Lee, associate professor in the School of Health and Human Sciences.
  • Breanca Merritt, senior research analyst for the IU Public Policy Institute in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs.
  • Molly Morin, program manager of the Leading Informatics for Tomorrow Scholars Program in the School of Informatics and Computing.
  • Jomo W. Mutegi, associate professor of science education in the School of Education.
  • Hongmei Nan, associate professor in the Department of Epidemiology at the Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health.
  • Julie L. Otte, associate professor in the Department of Science of Nursing Care at the School of Nursing.
  • Anusha S. Rao, assistant director at the Center for Teaching and Learning.
  • Karen Rogers, compliance and privacy officer in Dentistry Administration at the IU School of Dentistry.
  • Sharmin Taylor, department business administrator in the Department of Oral Surgery and Hospital Dentistry at the School of Dentistry.
  • Jennifer Williams, director of career services at the School of Engineering and Technology.

Visit the Next Generation 2.0 program web page for more information, including a list of past cohorts and their capstone projects.


More stories