Skip to main content

American Academy of Nursing selects four current and former IU nursing faculty for prestigious award

For Immediate Release Sep 17, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS – Three current and one former faculty member at the Indiana University School of Nursing have been named 2018 American Academy of Nursing fellows.

Lisa Carter-Harris, Wendy Miller, Joyce Pittman and former faculty member Kimberly Harper will be inducted as fellows during the organization’s annual policy conference Nov. 1-3 in Washington, D.C.

“Our new IU School of Nursing fellows join an esteemed group of leaders past and present who have made a significant impact on nursing practice, patient care and health,” said Robin Newhouse, dean and Distinguished Professor at the nursing school. “On behalf of the school, I congratulate my colleagues on receiving national recognition by the academy for their outstanding contributions.”

Academy fellows include renowned researchers and academic, clinical and government leaders who have transformed health care, nursing practice or education. The academy is currently composed of more than 2,500 nurse leaders representing all 50 states, the District of Columbia and 29 countries.

Lisa Carter-Harris is an assistant professor who focuses on improving patient-provider communication and the shared decision-making process in lung cancer screening. Her research has been used widely by clinicians, patients and policymakers to help more people get early screening and treatment for lung cancer. Carter-Harris is a board-certified adult nurse practitioner, teacher and mentor. She is an invited member of the American Cancer Society’s National Lung Cancer Roundtable as well as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s expert panel on shared decision-making in lung cancer screening.

Wendy Miller is an associate professor and director of the Social Network Health Research Lab, where she oversees interdisciplinary projects that focus on capturing the patient’s voice. Her independent program of research focuses on generating knowledge that will advance the state of science in the area of chronic disease self-management with an emphasis on improving the quality of life of adults with epilepsy via patient-centered interventions. She was awarded the New Investigator Career Development Award from the National Institutes of Health via the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute.

Joyce Pittman is an adjunct assistant professor and coordinator of the Wound, Ostomy and Continence Program at IU Health Academic Health Center, leading a team of 10 nurses. Her research is focused on improving the quality of life of those individuals with wound, ostomy and continence issues, specifically prevention of pressure injuries and ostomy-related complications. She has 38 years’ experience in clinical practice, including 18 as a certified WOC nurse and 15 as a nurse practitioner. She is the deputy editor for the Journal of Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing; a board member for the National Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel; and a member of the Governing Guidance Group for the International Pressure Ulcer Prevention and Treatment Guideline. Pittman has published numerous articles, authored chapters, and given presentations both nationally and internationally.

Kimberly Harper is chief executive officer of the Indiana Center for Nursing and serves as the nursing co-lead for the Indiana Action Coalition. Previous positions held include Nursing 2000 executive director; vice president for public affairs and the foundation at Wishard Health Services, now Eskenazi Health; and a 30-year stint serving Indiana University in a variety of nursing, marketing and human resources senior leadership roles. She is active in numerous professional organizations and has held various leadership roles within them; currently she is the chair of the board of directors of the national Nurses on Boards Coalition, where her leadership has contributed to improved health of our communities and nation through the voices of nurses on boards, commissions and governmental appointments all across the nation. Harper has served as a guest lecturer and a national and international speaker and has earned many awards, including the Nursing Professionalism and Practice Award for her “outstanding professional contributions and excellence in the practice, science and art of nursing” from the Indiana State Nurses Association.

About the Indiana University School of Nursing

Established in 1914, the IU School of Nursing has been empowering leaders in practice, research, education and service for over 100 years. Ranked 12th among public schools and colleges of nursing for National Institutes of Health funding, the school boasts a robust program of research focused on quality of life in chronic illness, nursing education and behavioral oncology. Programs offered include three undergraduate and nine graduate options in the master’s program. At the doctoral level, the school offers a Ph.D. in nursing science, the only Ph.D. program in the state of Indiana, and a leadership-focused DNP. There are also multiple graduate certificate and continuing education opportunities.

Media Contact

IU School of Nursing

Sally Krause

More stories

Two men sit a table with a laptop.
News at IU  
News at IU