Skip to main content

IU School of Optometry honors distinguished alumni at recent awards dinner

For Immediate Release Nov 19, 2018

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Indiana University School of Optometry honored two of its alumni at the fourth annual Foley House Awards and Donor Recognition Dinner on Oct. 19.

“We are so proud of the tremendous accomplishments of our alumni,” said Dr. Todd Peabody, associate dean of institutional advancement at the IU School of Optometry. “They are truly an inspiration, and their impact resounds throughout the profession.”

“The award recipients have achieved a great deal in their lives and careers and are truly deserving of their association with the school’s highest alumni honor, the Foley House Award,” added Dr. Joseph Bonanno, dean of the IU School of Optometry.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Dr. Linda Johnson, O.D. ’78: Johnson, director of optometry services at Jackson-Hinds Comprehensive Health Center in Jackson, Mississippi, received the Foley House Distinguished Alumni Award. The award is presented to an alumnus or alumna who has spent significant time dedicated to excellence in optometry, as well as represented the school well throughout his or her career, and has reached pre-eminent status in the field of optometry. Johnson was named the National Optometry Association Optometrist of the Year in 1993, as well as the American Optometric Association Optometrist of the Year in 2008. She served as president of the National Optometry Association from 1997 to 1999 and was the chair of the Central Mississippi Chapter of the American Red Cross, where she received its J. Tate Thigpen Award.
  • Dr. Jerry Logan, B.S. ’67, O.D. ’69: Logan, owner and operator of Drs. Logan and Bailey Optometrists Inc. in Richmond, Indiana, received the Foley House Basement Key Award. The award is presented to an alumnus or alumna who has demonstrated exceptional dedication and service to the IU School of Optometry. Logan serves on the IU School of Optometry’s Dean’s Development Council and is also the secretary of the East Central Indiana Chapter of the IU Alumni Association. He previously served as the president of the Whitewater Valley Optometric Society and the Wayne County Chapter of the IUAA. He also received the IU Alumni Association’s President’s Award in 2013.

The Indiana University School of Optometry prepares its students for careers in optometry, the ophthalmic industry and vision science through teaching, research and service. The school is home to the most comprehensive and advanced eye health education, research and patient care available with an emphasis on outreach to the most vulnerable populations.

Media Contact

More stories