Skip to main content

University honors Partners in Philanthropy

For Immediate Release Jun 22, 2023

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. — Indiana University President Pamela Whitten and IU Foundation President J T. Forbes recognized honorees as 2023 Partners in Philanthropy during a June 8 ceremony. The service and contributions of the honored philanthropic leaders have shaped the university’s future in lasting ways.

The 2023 Partners in Philanthropy honorees, from left, are David and Susan Roberts, Janie and Michael S. Maurer, Pam Meyer Yttri, and Dav... The 2023 Partners in Philanthropy honorees, from left, are David and Susan Roberts, Janie and Michael S. Maurer, Pam Meyer Yttri, and David H. Jacobs. Photo courtesy of IU Foundation“We want Indiana University to be known as a place where all students matter and where students have every possible opportunity to succeed,” Whitten said. “This year’s honorees do so much to enable the success of IU students. As we work together to reach new heights, we will continue to rely on IU alumni, supporters and friends whose philanthropic and volunteer leadership helps transform the face of Indiana University.”

Honorees received one of four awards: Cornerstone Award, Keystone Award, Herman B Wells Visionary Award or Family Legacy Award. Each year, nominations are solicited from all IU campuses. A committee of representatives from IUPUI, IU Bloomington and regional campuses selects the award recipients.

“Our honorees are exemplars of the spirit of philanthropy that makes Indiana University a force for good on our campuses, in our communities and around the globe,” Forbes said. “Through their generous leadership and support, these honorees have created life-changing opportunities that carry us forward into IU’s third century and beyond.”

The honorees

David and Susan Roberts: Cornerstone Award

The Cornerstone Award recognizes individuals whose partnership, volunteerism and generosity have been instrumental to the success of a single IU philanthropic initiative for a campus, program or school.

David and Susan Roberts know what it’s like to watch people they love slip into the shadows of memory loss because they have family members with Alzheimer’s or dementia. When they decided to direct their charitable giving to help an organization that was actively searching for the cause of Alzheimer’s, they knew the IU School of Medicine was the place to invest.

Since 2014, the Robertses have made transformational gifts supporting Alzheimer’s and neuroscience research at the IU School of Medicine. Most recently, they made an outstanding commitment to helping build the neuroscience lab space in the school’s new Medical Education and Research Tower, scheduled for completion in 2024. The Robertses have also made significant and impactful gifts to IU Athletics and the Kelley School of Business.

Pam Meyer Yttri: Keystone Award

The Keystone Award recognizes individuals who have shown exemplary leadership through their volunteerism and generosity for multiple IU campaigns or fundraising initiatives.

Pam Meyer Yttri understands the importance and power of a college education and has been a leader in supporting students and crucial initiatives on multiple IU campuses. She holds a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in special education from IU, a springboard for her teaching career throughout the country.

Her energetic support of IU spans more than 50 years, and her philanthropic generosity creates opportunities for students from pre-K to med school. Most recently, she established the Pam Meyer Yttri Directorship at the Kinsey-Kelley Center for Gender Equity in Business. The center brings together faculty at the Kinsey Institute and the Kelley School of Business to collaborate on addressing sexual harassment, pay inequities and other areas where leaders can bring more fairness to business.

David H. Jacobs: Herman B Wells Visionary Award

The Herman B Wells Visionary Award recognizes individuals who have shown an understanding of the power of philanthropy through their lifetime commitment of time, skill and donations.

David H. Jacobs believes in relationship-based philanthropy and how individuals and organizations can come together to achieve shared goals. Over the years, he has both continued and enhanced his family’s longstanding support of IU.

Jacobs has not only given generously to the Jacobs School of Music but has also inspired others to give to IU. He has connected the school to new philanthropic partners, funded new operatic works and seeded the Jacobs School of Music Student Support Fund, which provides time-sensitive assistance to Jacobs students facing unforeseen hardship. A member of the IU Foundation’s board of directors since 2006, Jacobs is also a founding member of the Women’s Philanthropy Leadership Council, Black Philanthropic Circle and IU Queer Philanthropic Circle.

Michael S. Maurer family: Family Legacy Award

The Family Legacy Award recognizes families who have a time-honored tradition of exemplary volunteerism and generosity with Indiana University.

Three generations of the Maurer family shape the landscape of IU, particularly its School of Law. In 2008, Michael “Mickey” Maurer and his wife, Janie, established a scholarship fund that was so transformational that the School of Law was named in his honor. Their gift has given more than 800 law students a life-changing Maurer Scholarship, which provides the opportunity to earn a law degree from one of the nation’s top public law schools with little to no debt.

Mickey and Janie are most proud of their family, who all continually support IU, generously giving to and sharing their time and expertise with their communities. All three of their children earned degrees at IU and married Hoosiers: Todd (JD ’97) and Linda (BA ’95) Maurer, Jill (BS ’97) and Matthew (BA ’97) Burnett, and Greg (BS ’98) and Megan (BS ’04) Maurer. Mickey and Janie’s philanthropic lineage now extends to their nine grandchildren, three of whom are current IU Bloomington students.

Media Contact

Indiana University Foundation

Matt Kavgian

More stories