Skip to main content

IUN athletics announces three inductees into RedHawk Hall of Fame

Sharon Houston (2008-12), philanthropists Karen and Terry McMahon and the 2009-10 women’s basketball team were selected to the 2024 class

Athletics Alumni Nov 17, 2023

GARY, Ind. — Indiana University Northwest is proud to officially announce the development of an IU Northwest Athletics Hall of Fame, which will be on the second floor of the Savannah Center, home of the RedHawks.

Opening in fall 2024, the Hall of Fame will serve as a permanent campus fixture to recognize and highlight the many student-athletes and supporters who have helped the program grow.

Inductions of the 2024 Hall of Fame Class include Sharon Houston (women’s basketball), Terry and Karen McMahon (philanthropists) and the 2009-10 Women’s Basketball Team.


One of the most decorated women’s basketball student-athletes in RedHawk and NAIA history, Houston garnered induction into the state-of-the-art Hall of Fame by unanimous vote.

Houston came to IU Northwest in the fall of 2008 and immediately made an impact on the basketball court. She was a four-time All-American and conference player of the year, while holding the school record for points (2,784), rebounds (1,722) and blocks (498).

KAREN & TERRY MCMAHON (Philanthropists)

The McMahon family has been one of the RedHawks’ most significant supporters over the last 15 years.

In great part to the McMahon’s philanthropic donations, the program has benefited with the establishment of the Terry and Karen McMahon Resource Center, gymnasium upgrades, locker room renovations, branded team vans, student scholarship support and more.


The first NAIA Tournament participant and conference champion in IU Northwest athletics’ history was chosen for induction into the 2024 Hall of Fame. The 2009-10 women’s basketball team finished the year with a 24-12 mark.

The RedHawks were led by head coach and current Director of Athletics Ryan Shelton. Houston paced IU Northwest with nearly 25 points per game and 14.7 rebounds a contest en route to All-American and conference Player of the Year honors. The RedHawks were also led by the all-conference backcourt of Juliette Keller (12.5 points and 71 three-point field goals) and Nina Wills (154 assists and 112 steals).

“We are very excited to announce our next induction class to our hall of fame,” said IU Northwest Director of Athletics, Ryan Shelton. “Each of our 2024 inductees made a significant and lasting impact on IU Northwest and RedHawks Athletics and we are excited to celebrate their contributions with the opening of our new hall of fame exhibit opening next fall.”

Induction for the Class of 2024 will coincide with the grand opening of the IU Northwest Athletics Hall of Fame.

Former women’s basketball player Sharon Houston (2008-12), philanthropists Karen and Terry McMahon and the 2009-10 women’s basketball team were selected to the IU Northwest athletics’ 2024 Hall of Fame Class.

More stories

A woman smiles while crossing her arms in a hallway.
IU Northwest